Michael Grubb to lead colour in retail lighting webcast

Michael Grubb Studio clinched last year’s Hospitality and Leisure Lighting Project of the Year at 2016’s Lux Awards, for their inventive lighting scheme at Lush’s flagship store in Manchester’s Arndale Centre. 

Lux is all set to investigate the potential of light and colour in retail in a webcast, sponsored by Ledvance, and leading our discussion will be lighting designer, Michael Grubb, of Michael Grubb Studio.

Grubb and his team clinched last year’s Hospitality and Leisure Lighting Project of the Year at 2016’s Lux Awards, for their inventive lighting scheme at Lush’s flagship store in Manchester’s Arndale Centre.

Michael Grubb's webcast will take place on 3 May 2017 at 1pm (UK) 4pm (UAE) 8pm (Hong Kong) 7am (CDT). You can register to listen by clicking here

The supremacy of LED during the last decade has completely altered the way that designers use lighting in retail spaces.

LED light can now be tuned to the type of merchandise that is being sold. Only last month, for example, it was revealed in a new study that pastel coloured uplights in retail displays has been found to increase basket values by six percent.

In the Manchester's Lush store Grubb and his team aimed to create a more immersive lighting design, one that responded to the products being sold.

‘A one solution fits all approach to the lighting scheme would not have expanded the shopping experience, a more responsive scheme that matches the products being sold will prompt an increase in dwell times and that in turn will boost sales,’ Grubb told Lux.

The webcast will aim to explore the ways that retail lighting is becoming increasingly influenced by the colour of the light rather than the amount of illumination that is being generated.

During the broadcast Michael will discuss how LEDs require an entirely new way of working with colour in the retail environment and how LED display lighting can be specifically tuned for specific types of merchandise.

The webcast will also consider how TM30 is taking over from the Colour Rendering Index (CRI) and how saturated colour is being used in retail lighting.

  • Michael Grubb's webcast will take place on 3 May 2017 at 1pm (UK) 4pm (UAE) 8pm (Hong Kong) 7am (CDT). You can find out more and register to listen by clicking here

Comments

No comments yet.

Leave your comment