Webinar to consider impact of colour and light in retail

The rise of the LED has changed the way that we use colour in a retail environment and manufacturers are today offering LED display lighting that is specially 'tuned' for specific types of merchandise.

An upcoming Lux webinar on 3 May 2017 will aim to explore the ways that retail lighting is becoming influenced not only by the amount of illumination generated, but, most crucially, by the colour of the light itself.

The broadcast will feature contributions from Chris Shenton of LEDvance and Michael Grubb of Michael Grubb Studio, who was responsible for the Lux Award winning lighting in the new look Lush stores.

Only last month it was revealed that the use of pastel coloured uplights in a particular area of a store in Germany was found to increase basket values by six percent.

The same combination of coloured lights also increased customer visits to the revamped section of the store by 15 per cent when compared to an area lit with standard store lighting.

Philips Lighting produced the study in conjunction with major German grocer, Globus, with the expressed aim of finding lighting that increased sales.

The researchers spent two months testing different lighting conditions in the supermarket. Three settings were tested, including the store’s uniform overhead lighting, regular spotlights and a combination of spotlights with pastel coloured uplights.

Retailers have traditionally lit stores using uniform, white, overhead lighting. The research showed that the 58 spotlights used in the experiment strengthened the appearance of products by increasing contrast.

  • The webinar will take place on 3 May 2017 at 1pm (UK) 4pm (UAE) 8pm (Hong Kong) 7am (CDT). You can find out more and register to listen by clicking here

Comments

No comments yet.

Leave your comment